The White House is the name given to the official home and workplace of the President of the United States. It is located at 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue in Washington, D.C. Every President except George Washington has lived there. It was built between 1792 and 1800; in 1814, it was burned by the British army when they invaded the city during the War of 1812.

After the war ended, the White House was rebuilt in the 1820’s and has been expanded over the years. It has been redecorated on the inside and today is open for public tours. The President’s family also lives in the White House.

The President’s office is called the Oval Office because the room is shaped like an oval. In the Oval Office, the President signs bills, meets with staff, and hosts guests and visitors. The furniture in the room may change over the years, but one of the most famous pieces is the Resolute desk, which was a gift from the British Queen Victoria to President Hayes in 1880. It was made from the wood of a British ship.

To learn more, including an interactive tour inside, see the White House official site.